Minutes of

The 2021 Annual General Meeting of the European Federation of Associations and Centres of Irish Studies (IVZW) Saturday, September 4th 2021, 11:00-13:30 CET (online)

Present: Jochen Achilles, Alessandra Boller, Fran Brearton, Jessica Bundschuh, Mariavita Cambria, Elena Canido, David Clark, Elena Cotta Ramusino, Seán Crosson, Irene de Angelis, Elke D'hoker, Fiorenzo Fantaccini, James Gallacher, Christophe Gillissen, Peter Gray, Marianna Gula, Raphaël Ingelbien, Anthony Johnson, Eva Kerski, Thomas Korthals, James Little, Radvan Markus, Sylvie Mikowski, Rióna Ní Fhrighil, Ondřej Pilný, Katharina Rennhak, Loredana Salis, Chiara Sciarrino, Annabel Sels, Hedwig Schwall, Frank Shovlin, Katherine Side, Nick Taylor-Collins, Daniela Theinová, Pilar Villar-Argáiz, Clare Wallace

1. Approval of the minutes of the previous meeting

The minutes of the previous meeting are unanimously approved.

2. President's Report

The president welcomes the members to the AGM and presents her annual report (see appendix).

3. Treasurer's Report

The treasurer presents the accounts of the previous year, signed by the auditors, Thomas Korthals and Seán Crosson, the budget for the year 2021 and the projected budget for the year 2022. He points out the difficulties in the upcoming change of the coordinator which coincides with the transition of the ESP grant scheme from the academic year to the calendar year. However, thanks to the helpful approach of DFA these problems are surmountable.

4. Approval of the accounts for the previous year

The accounts for the previous year are approved by the members.

5. Approval of the budget for the current year

The budget for the current year is approved by the members.

6. Honourable acquittal of the board

Board honourably acquitted.

7. Election of two auditors

Thomas Korthals and Jessica Bundschuh – external to the board –, are nominated and elected.

8. Election of EFACIS Board

James Gallacher, in his function as the returning officer, explains the procedure. The voting is conducted on the online platform freeonlinesurveys.com, which contains the list of all 14 nominees. Every member of the AGM may vote for up to nine candidates. The following candidates introduce themselves: Irene de Angelis (Turin, Italy), Elke D'hoker (Leuven, Belgium), Peter Gray (Belfast, UK), Raphaël Ingelbien (Leuven, Belgium), Anthony Johnson (NISN), Radvan Markus (Prague, Czech Republic), Sylvie Mikowski (SOFEIR), Rióna Ní Fhrighil (Galway, Ireland), Katharina Rennhak (Wuppertal, Germany), Frank Shovlin (Liverpool, UK), Nicholas Taylor-Collins (Cardiff, UK), Pilar Villar-Argáiz (Granada, Spain). Anne Goarzin (SOFEIR) and Joanna Jarząb-Napierała (Poznań, Poland) also stand for the election, although they are not present at the AGM. Katharina Rennhak, Elke D'hoker, Raphaël Ingelbien and Radvan Markus declare that, as announced in their written statements, they have put their names forward to be elected president (K. Rennhak), vice-president (Elke D'hoker), treasurer (R. Ingelbien) and secretary (R. Markus).

The results of the vote are presented by James Gallacher and his two polling clerks, Allessandra Boller and Elena Cotta Ramusino:

- 1. Irene de Angelis (Turin, Italy): 14 votes
- 2. Elke D'hoker (Leuven, Belgium): 29 votes
- 3. Anne Goarzin (SOFEIR): 4 votes
- 4. Peter Gray (Belfast, UK): 29 votes
- 5. Raphaël Ingelbien (Leuven, Belgium): 32 votes
- 6. Joanna Jarzab-Napierała (Poznań, Poland): 6 votes
- 7. Anthony Johnson (NISN): 22 votes
- 8. Radvan Markus (Prague, Czech Republic): 29 votes
- 9. Sylvie Mikowski (SOFEIR): 27 votes
- 10. Rióna Ní Fhrighil (Galway, Ireland): 23 votes
- 11. Katharina Rennhak (Wuppertal, Germany): 34 votes
- 12. Frank Shovlin (Liverpool, UK): 23 votes
- 13. Nicholas Taylor-Collins (Cardiff, UK): 11 votes
- 14. Pilar Villar-Argáiz (Granada, Spain): 28 votes

The results are available at: https://freeonlinesurveys.com/r/ApKv17t6

The following board members are elected: Elke D'hoker, Peter Gray, Raphaël Ingelbien, Radvan Markus, Sylvie Mikowski, Rióna Ní Fhrighil, Katharina Rennhak, Frank Shovlin, Pilar Villar-Argáiz.

9. Irish Itinerary (Classical, Podcast, Digital)

The president encourages members to take part in these schemes. The Irish Itinerary in its physical form should be relaunched as soon as possible, the Digital Itinerary is to be retained until the university courses generally return to their physical form. The future of the Irish Itinerary Podcast is discussed. The president points out the huge success of the scheme, but notes a recent decrease of interest on the part of scholars. Various members make their commitments to produce podcasts in the near future. The president also encourages members to integrate the podcasts into university courses.

10. Irish Studies Itinerary

The president encourages members to apply for ESP funding for this scheme, mentioning her positive experience of running the Irish Studies Itinerary in Germany. Other similar projects are encouraged as well.

11. Translation Project

The project director, Hedwig Schwall, describes the success of the project, but at the same time encourages more members to be involved so that more languages are represented.

12. Postgraduate Activities

Elke D'hoker and Radvan Markus present the upcoming Leuven PhD seminar (2022) and the Prague PhD conference (2023). The president points out that EFACIS currently lacks a PhD representative and that it is upon the board to decide concerning the best procedure of selecting one.

13. EFACIS Strategy

The president describes the recently introduced scheme of EFACIS roundtables, created to emphasise the academic side of the EFACIS strategy, and encourages members to take part.

14. Publications

a. RISE

The general editor, Seán Crosson, introduces the recent and forthcoming issues and encourages submissions for themed issues as well as general submissions of scholarly work.

b. ISE

The president introduces the recent issues and points out that the web presentation of ISE is to be improved.

c. Newsletter

The president encourages members to read the newsletter as it is one of the most important ways for the executive to communicate with members.

15. EFACIS conferences 2023 and 2025

Peter Gray introduces the upcoming conference with the preliminary theme "Union and Partitions". It will take place in Belfast on 30 August - 2 September 2023. Members are encouraged to volunteer to organize a conference in 2025.

Signed

Katharina Rennhak (President)

Radvan Markus (Secretary)

Kothanina Rom &

Radom Mantz